top of page

It started with Heidelberg, Germany: Itinerary for 2 days and more

Yes I decide to start a dream with a real trip. I've been to Heidelberg for the first time 3 years ago, by a chance to enroll in a language school here. This place has never been on my list before, I chose the school, not the city. But for the very first day I came here, I did totally fall for it.

Heidelberg view from philosopher's path with castle and old bridge

1. How to get there

There is no airport in Heidelberg and the nearest international airport is in Frankfurt (FRA) if you must or want to take a flight. Otherwise, getting here by train, bus or car are possible. It is only 100km away from Frankfurt which is 1 hour by car on average.

Please check the available itinerary from Omio.com to compare the price and time length so that you can decide which trip fits you the best.


Tips: Use my referral code nguynt3s2v2u in Account>Travel Bonus to get $5 off your first booking and so do I. You can also find your referral code to share the discount with your friends as well then every one wins yayyyy
Stadtteil Rohrbach Heidelberg street sign

2. What to do in Heidelberg

Day 1:

- Old town (Altstadt): Starting from Bismarckplatz leads you to the old town, with the long live houses from previous decades. It doesn't have to be a house with history to attract you, but the whole town harmonize creating a poetic big picture. After having lunch, just let your self wander through these street with no rush, any corner can give you a great shot. Don't miss out any secret alley which is empty of people but full of artistic view. And don't afraid of being hungry, old town has every food for you.

- Old bridge (Alte Brücke or Karl Theodor bridge): This is the next signature location after the castle, an arch bridge from 18th century crossing the Neckar river. On the old town side it is the Karlstor welcoming you to the bridge, and a monkey statue stands beside which may attract you somehow.

- Church of the Holy Spirit (Heiliggeistkirche): Coming back to the main street, Hauptstrasse, you can see this church. I don't know if they still allow visitors to climb to the tower to see the sight anymore, but it would worth the try if they allow.

- Student jail (Studentenkarzer): On the main street of the old town, Hauptstrasse, turn right to the Augustinergasse street, you will find the Student jail of Heidelberg Uni. This is the place for rebellious student spending their detention, and the "graffiti" on all the walls here made this jail become a interesting spot nowadays. This location belongs to University Heidelberg located in Altstadt campus, so you can find some houses here are actual classroom or functional department of this most ancient Uni in Germany (since 1386). You can also stop by to visit the Heidelberg University Library (Universitätsbibliothek) here.

Student Jail

- Heidelberg castle (Schloss Heidelberg); I suggest going here after lunch, then after spending a whole afternoon to come up the peak, then enjoy the castle from inside, which was built from pink sandstone since 1200s, we can catch the incredible sunset view. To get to the castle yard you can walk on the uprise hill path, or climb the steps, and especially can use the funicular. Various fares are available here with 4 stations:

  • Kornmarkt: Starting point

  • Heidelberg castle: Funicular ticket to this station includes entry to the castle ground, the Wine Barrel (or Heidelberg Tun, the largest wine barrel in the world with 220,000 liters capacity), and German Pharmacy Museum (Deutsche Apotheken-Museum)

  • Molkenkur: Transfer point, the intersection from lower and upper trip section. But you can step down and walk around discovering this area before continuing on the next section, no stress.

  • Königstuhl: The highest peak of this hill with significant view down to the castle, the old town, and Neckar river with the Old Bridge (Karl-Theodore bridge). Ideal trip is to go up by the funicular then walking down along the path and enjoying the nature.


Tips: There is a wine testing menu inside the castle hall, I haven't tried this, but for me the curry sausage (Currywurst) here is outstanding.

Day 2:

- Philosopher's walk (Philosophenweg): The other end of the old bridge leads to the Philosopher's walk, which is just a walking path full of nature beauty like flowers and butterflies, that some philosophers used to come here to chill. I recommend you to come here early because the walk may take hours to half of a day. Having lunch now maybe an in time decision while you still have many choices around on the way down.

- Botanical Garden (Botanisher Garten): On the flow of Philosophenweg you can go to the bus stop on Brückenstraße st. Take the bus 31 direction to Neuenheimer Feld and get off at Bunsengymnasium bus stop, then search the location or follow this path to reach the Botanical garden.

Heidelberg Botanical garden. Photo by Alexander Loesch on Local Guide Connect.
Heidelberg Botanical garden. Photo by Alexander Loesch on Local Guide Connect.

- Heidelberg University (Uni Heidelberg): Just behind the Botanical Garden is the Neuenheimer Feld campus of Heidelberg University. This campus is more like a technic park which is less romantic than the Altstadt campus, so if you want to take a walk to relax and enjoy the peaceful air, I suggest you move to the next point.


- Heidelberg Zoo: Yes, it is, the zoo is only 500m walk from the garden, but with the car you need to check the proper way due to some one-way street. I haven't known about this zoo before I left so I missed it. But it's on my list for the next time coming back to my "German hometown".


Silly fact: Haha yeah, in every country I came, I will find myself a hometown in which I found my inner peace. So the next time I come back, it would not be travel, but coming home. If there is no place I feel home in some countries, it is just because I haven't found out yet, I definitely come back to search for it.

Day 3 (if any):

2 days are enough to visit all the most signature spots in Heidelberg, but I would like to spend 1 more day walking around nomadically. In the word "Heidelberg", berg in German means mountain, and most of places in Germany with this term in the name, it means that place is mountainous. You can go to suburban area like Boxberg for instant (bus 29 from Bismarktplazt in the center) to explore the little forests and hills, or Kirchheim (tram 23 from Bismarktplazt) to walk under the tree shadow in a lovely neighborhood, or maybe just to take a nap on the grass in the riverside park feeding swans and ducks.

3. What to eat

There are plenty dishes served by a lot of restaurants you can find in the Old town. I'm writing here some that I have tried already and found good, but it would be better to try more if you have time, or choosing anywhere else that attracts your starving stomach. Hunger should not be waiting.


- Currywurst: The most well-known food of Germany (the country of sausage and beer). I chose MyCurrywurst (Hauptstraße 166, 69117 Heidelberg) with the price for combo starting from EUR6,--.

currywurst mycurrywurst in heidelberg

- Japanese noodles (yeah sorry my bad, but it's really yummy): I had my lunch at Mosch Mosch (Hauptstraße 136, 69117 Heidelberg) with a good price for such a big bowl of noodles. I borrow their menu putting here for you.

japanese noodle nudeln mosch mosch moschmosch

- Döner kebab:


"With an estimated 16.000 kebab shops peppering the country, you can’t get far in Germany without trying a Döner. If you’re picturing some mystery meat and limp salad packed inside a tasteless flatbread, think again. This is not an end-of-the-night fallback for partygoers but a delight to be enjoyed for breakfast, lunch and dinner."
                      Source: 10 Turkish snacks you should try in Germany 

Yes it is, no need to say much. You can find doner kebab store every 200m walk, blindly pick one to taste for average from EUR4,--. I used to try at Kebab Haus (Hauptstraße 173, 69117 Heidelberg), but sadly it is temporarily closed due to COVID-19.

- Dessert and café: I was attracted by Café Gundel (Hauptstraße 212, 69117 Heidelberg) because the show window from their bakery is delighted. I wish my stomach were bigger to try all the cakes there, instead of just a chocolate cake and a cherry cheesecake.

black forest cake bakery brownie chocolate cake cafe gundel in heidelberg cherry cheesecake


There is a song name "Ich hab mein Herz in Heidelberg verloren" (I lost my heart in Heidelberg) which is about a young man had his first kiss with a girl by the Neckar river, then many years had gone by but he was still alone. When being asked, he said that he can't love anyone else, because he lost his heart in Heidelberg. One of my biggest dream for now is to come back to Heidelberg with my bedmate, because I deposited half of my heart there, and I want to bring the other half to fulfill it.


And you, have you lost your heart in Heidelberg?



Comments


bottom of page